Question Answers Recipes Reviews Supplies Register
Cooking Baking Ingredients Equipment Techniques Entertaining Holidays Ethnic Nutrition Safety Desserts Drinks History Science Kids
Where on the Food Pyramid Does Mayonnaise Live?

Is mayonnaise considered a dairy product?

Well, mayonnaise is made primarily from eggs and vegetable oil, and — last we checked — neither of those came from cows, so our best guess would be no.

Even in the categories of the old Food Pyramid (when one size did fit all), mayonnaise was in the Fats, Oils, and Sweets category, and not the dairy-based Milk, Yogurt, and Cheese group.

Submit your question
to Ochef

Related Articles:
Substituting Mayonnaise for Eggs
Related Recipe:
Mayonnaise for Sandwiches
CookingBakingIngredientsEquipmentTechniquesEntertainingHolidaysEthnicNutritionSafetyDessertsDrinksHistoryScienceKids

Register 2001-2007 OCHEF LLCSearchAdvertiseContact UsPrivacySite MapLinks