Question Answers Recipes Reviews Supplies Register
Cooking Baking Ingredients Equipment Techniques Entertaining Holidays Ethnic Nutrition Safety Desserts Drinks History Science Kids
Managing Your Gelatin Intake (with Help from a Six-Year-Old)

My daughter, who is six, refuses to eat Rice Krispies because it has gelatin. My question is, where does this gelatin come from? Because it does not tell us if it is beef gelatin or pork gelatin. I think the ingredient on a food label should mention whether it is pork gelatin or beef.

You're getting your food information from a six-year-old? Clearly she is bright and precociously socially conscious or religiously minded, but you need to find out where she gets her information. It is not coming from Kellogg's, the makers of Rice Krispies cereal.

Rice Krispies contains rice, sugar, salt, high fructose corn syrup, malt flavoring, and a huge assortment of vitamins and iron. There is no gelatin in Rice Krispies.

Your daughter is probably speaking of Rice Krispies Treats, which are made with marshmallows, which do include gelatin. There are kosher marshmallows on the market, but they use a fish-based gelatin, so even that would not help you produce a gelatin-free RKT.

Alternatively, though, you can use Marshmallow Fluff to make Rice Krispies Treats, and Marshmallow Fluff contains only corn syrup, sugar, dried egg white, and vanillin.

Our government does not require food manufacturers to divulge the sources of their gelatin. Most commercially processed gelatin is made from pig skin.

Submit your question
to Ochef

Related Articles:
What is Gelatin?
Vegetarian Gelatin
Using Kosher Gelatin Instead of Animal-Based
Substituting Marshmallow Cream/Fluff for Marshmallows
What are Clear Jel/Sure-Jel?
Related Recipes:
Rice Krispies Treats (With or Without Gelatin)
Strawberry Bavarian
How to Make Marshmallows
English Fresh Strawberry Pudding
Strawberry Mousse

Register 2001-2006 OCHEF LLCSearchAdvertiseContact UsPrivacySite MapLinks