Question Answers Recipes Reviews Supplies Register
Cooking Baking Ingredients Equipment Techniques Entertaining Holidays Ethnic Nutrition Safety Desserts Drinks History Science Kids
Vegetarian-Friendly Substitutes for Gelatin

 As a vegetarian, I donít use gelatin. But I donít know what to substitute when I run across it in a recipe.

 There are a number of vegetarian-appropriate setting agents on the market — among them agar-agar (powder, strips, or flakes from a sea vegetable), arrowroot (a starchy powder from the tropical tuber of the same name), guar gum (the product of East Indian seed), Xanthan gum (a corn extract), kudzu (a starchy powder from the plantís tuber), and certain ground nuts and seeds. Most (but not all) kosher gelatins are also vegetarian.

Some of these are available in supermarkets, others require a trip to the health food store or even more aggressive hunting. Follow the directions on the package to see that your food sets up correctly.

Submit your question
to Ochef

Related Articles:
What is Gelatin?
What are Clear Jel/Sure-Jel, Thickeners
Thickeners for Puddings, Pies and Sauces
Using Kosher Gelatin for a Fondant
Thickening Fruit Pie with Corn Starch, Tapioca, or Cassava
 
Cooking    Baking    Ingredients    Equipment    Techniques    Entertaining    Holidays    Ethnic    Nutrition    Safety    Desserts    Drinks    History    Science    Kids

Register    © 2001-2006 FNS LLC    Search    Advertise    Contact Us    Privacy    Site Map    Links