Question Answers Recipes Reviews Supplies Register
Cooking Baking Ingredients Equipment Techniques Entertaining Holidays Ethnic Nutrition Safety Desserts Drinks History Science Kids
Is There Gluten in Corn and Other Grains?

 I recently found out I'm allergic to a lot of foods, including gluten. Now here's a really dumb question: is there also gluten in other grains, i.e., corn? (I'm allergic to barley, wheat, oats, etc.)

 Technically, gluten does not exist even in wheat flour, it is produced. Two of the proteins in the starch in wheat flour, glutenin and gliadin, combine with water to form the complex known as gluten. When the proteins are surrounded by water and stretched, they begin to interact and form new bonds between each other, which are both very elastic and strong. When bread dough is kneaded, the protein molecules form elastic sheets of gluten, which trap the gasses given off by the yeast in the dough, causing it to rise.

Alan Davidson, author of The Oxford Companion to Food, says other grains including corn, rice, and barley do not contain the gluten-producing proteins, although they contain other proteins.

And we're always eager to tell people when their questions are dumb, but yours is not. In fact, we came across a number of bread-making books that either imply or state that these other grains do contain gluten, although in insignificant quantities. But we're sticking with Mr. Davidson's answer.

Submit your question
to Ochef

Related Articles:
How to Bake with Spelt
Difference: Bread Flour and Gluten Flour
Homemade Vanilla (Gluten in Vanilla?)
Preventing Rubbery Cakes
Related Recipes:
Gluten-Free, No-Bake Cheesecake Crust
Glenda Barretto's Putu
Quick and Easy Flat Bread
Sweet Potato Bread
Cooking    Baking    Ingredients    Equipment    Techniques    Entertaining    Holidays    Ethnic    Nutrition    Safety    Desserts    Drinks    History    Science    Kids

Register     2001-2007 FNS LLC    Search    Advertise    Contact Us    Privacy    Site Map    Links